The Clintons to release a new CD in 2011

As the title suggests we are indeed heavily involved in producing the new CD which is most likely due out this year.

The song list is finalized.  John and I have two co-write songs to finish but other than that, demos are done and we’re well into pre-production.

We’re shaking things up quite a bit on this record.  The biggest change is that I’m not producing it.  I’ll remain heavily involved with the final product but for this round the great Andrew Petroff is heading up the project as the official producer.

Andrew Petroff - Steel Magnolia

Andrew was the bass player in The Clintons for about four years.  Since A.J. joined the band Andrew has been in Nashville, TN playing in bands, interning and working at recording studios and publishing companies.  The dude has logged ridiculous miles in Prevost tour buses opening up for bands like Brad Paisley.  He’s currently the touring bass player for Steel Magnolia (same record label and management as Taylor Swift & Rascal Flatts).  He also produced their Christmas single It’s Christmas Time.

I couldn’t be more excited about this change up.  Andrew and I have always been on the same page musically and I know that John trusts him a great deal too.  Also, instead of flying to Phoenix to record drums, I’ll be flying to Nashville at the end of February to record drums with Andrew at The Brown Owl studio.

The coolest part about this record is the songs, attitude, and vibe of the whole project.  We’ve never had such a flawless song list for a record.  Hands down, this will be the best record we’ve put out.  We’re even including a cover song that we’ve never played live and we’re trolling the waters for some collaborators/guest vocals/guest musicians.  As a side note, even though I mentioned a few country acts above, this is not going to be a country record in the slightest.  More hints to come…

As if this isn’t the best Clintons news ever, we’re releasing Clintons Bootleg #3 very soon.

Please, tell me what you think about all this in the comments below!


14 Responses to The Clintons to release a new CD in 2011

  1. Phil Andric February 3, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    Very glad for another Clinton’s record! I saw you guys once here in AZ play Flicka’s back in 2002 and was addicted to Who Invited Roger but never got deeper into your catalogue until about a year ago when I purchased all your albums in the bundle package. Not only have I grown to be a bigger Clinton’s fan but I’ve spread the word to many friends so you guys have a growing following in the Southwest.

  2. KJ January 28, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    So freakin’ stoked for the record and even more so for a new bootleg to get me through the waiting!
    I can’t wait to hear a record produced by Andrew. That boy has some mad skills and always happy to have him back collaberating with The Clintons :)

  3. Josh Keller January 25, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    WAHOOO! Sign me up for a bootleg!!!

  4. Clinton Paquin January 25, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Hells ya!! Can’t wait to hear more details – keep making the magic happen boys!

  5. Blayne January 25, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    WAAAZZZAAAA!!! Can’t wait guys! So excited for the new creation and what it may become!

  6. Andy January 24, 2011 at 7:31 pm #


  7. Redboy January 24, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Can’t wait, and you know The Redboy Podcast is always here to promote it!

  8. Chen January 24, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    I this going to be the cover art? Follow-up question, how did you squeeze John into the leather pants to take that picture?

    • bnl1969 January 25, 2011 at 11:04 am #

      those legs are way too skinny to John’s, those have to be Keehr’s.

  9. Jared January 23, 2011 at 12:53 am #


  10. WIED January 21, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    I’m fired up!

  11. Pk January 21, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    \m/ Rock ‘n Roll \m/

  12. Jaime January 21, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    Best news ever. That is all. :)

  13. Rebekah January 21, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    WooHoo! More bootleg! I don’t really understand all the technical stuff, but I fully expect to love whatever you guys give us. :)